Coldest
April 18, 2024, 09:13:45 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: I've changed anti-bot strategies, so hopefully the rash of bot registrations will stop. Smiley

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Code Refactoring  (Read 4579 times)
wulfderay

View Profile
« on: April 21, 2012, 10:42:09 PM »

Hi, I'm wulfderay.   I'm very impressed with your game.  I am a programmer (4th year student) and I was wondering if I could offer my help.  I downloaded your source code and took the liberty of doing a bit of refactoring.
Here's what I've done so far:
- moved the source code into its own directory
- moved the xml in the gui dir into its own directory (so there is a ./gui dir for xml and a ./src/gui directory for the source)
- separated the source code into directories (roughly) and updated the includes and CMakeList.txt to reflect this
- separated the code in coldest.cpp that pertains to the dedicated server and put it in its own file, updating CMakeList.txt to reflect this
- abstracted out some code that was used for both the dedicated server and the client and put in its own file

If you are interested in taking a look at these changes, I can give you back a copy of the code, just let me know if you do and how you'd like the copy.
I'm not super great with git (more used to svn), but if you want a branch or something we can figure it out.

Again, sweet game.  I look forward to working on it (if you want me to).
Cybertron
Coldest Developer
Administrator

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2012, 05:01:58 PM »

Sorry for not getting back to you quicker, been busy the past couple of days.